Rogier van Otterloo & His Orchestra


On the Move (Polydor 1976, STEREO) & The French Collection (Polydor 1976, STEREO)




Brand new shrinkwrapped CD.


Vocalion CDSML 8474


Dutch arranger-composer-conductor Rogier van Otterloo (1941-88) was one of Holland’s greatest musical talents in the jazz, pop and classical field. The eldest son of renowned conductor-composer Willem van Otterloo (1907-78), in 1980 Rogier was appointed as the Chief Conductor and Musical Director of Holland’s leading light music orchestra, the Metropole Orchestra. He was also a renowned composer of film music, providing inspired scores for several Dutch movies, notably ‘Turks Fruit’ (1973), ‘Soldaat van Oranje’ (1977) and ‘Grijpstra & De Gier’ (1979), all of which starred Rutger Hauer.

This Vocalion release contains two of his finest albums from the mid-1970s. Recorded for Polydor, both On the Move (1975) and The French Collection (1976) showcase Rogier’s genius as an arranger and composer. On the Move features a synthesis of the classics, jazz and funk that is, by turns, exciting, beautiful and haunting. The only title on the album not composed by Rogier is Go on Forever (We Zullen Doorgaan), from the pen of Dutch actor-singer Ramses Shaffy, for which Rogier provides a gorgeous arrangement that incorporates funk alongside classical influences. Other highlights include the jazzy, muscular grooves of The Flattened Tenth and I Do Remember, both of which are powered along by Alf Bigden’s superlative drumming. The French Collection focuses on Rogier’s brilliance as an arranger, with a tantalising menu of French popular melodies treated to his modern orchestrations. Rogier creates elegant, funky arrangements of Le Gars de Rochechouart and The Windmills of Your Mind, while his orchestration of Charles Trenet and Léo Chauliac’s Que reste-t-il? is simply sublime.

On the Move (1976) and The French Collection (1976) were recorded in the UK, and feature a stellar line-up of British musicians that includes Don Lusher (trombone), Tony Fisher and Eddie Blair (trumpets), Tony Gilbert (lead violin), Roy Willox (reeds), Martin Kershaw (guitar), Alf Bigden (drums), Daryl Runswick (bass guitar) and Jim Lawless (percussion). For these sessions Rogier brought with him three of Holland’s finest musicians – Rob Langereis (bass guitar) and pianists Henk Elkerbout and Rob Franken – whose solos and brilliant musicianship add so much to the music. Both albums have been remastered from the original analogue stereo tapes for crystal clear sound quality, and the CD booklet features extensive liner notes, full recording session/personnel information plus several rare photographs of Rogier van Otterloo.

Remastered from the original analogue tapes. First time on CD.


Track listing:


On the Move 


1: Go on Forever We Zullen Doorgaan (Shaffy; van Otterloo arr van Otterloo)

2: Alfie’s Lullaby (van Otterloo)

3: On the Move (van Otterloo)

4: Alone a t Last (van Otterloo)

5: My Dearest Fluffie (van Otterloo)

6: The Eternal Triangle (van Otterloo)

7: I Do Remember (van Otterloo)

8: The Flattened Tenth (van Otterloo)


Arranged & conducted by Rogier van Otterloo

Recorded at CTS Studios, Wembley, Middlesex, 13-14 October & 10 December 1975

Producer: Cees Schrama


The French Collection 


9: Que reste-t-il? (Trenet)

10: Les Plaisirs Démodés The Old Fashioned Way (Garvarentz; Aznavour)

11: Summer of ’42 (Legrand) theme from the film

12: Le Gars de Rochechouart (Salvador; Vian)

13: Mourir au Soleil (Ferrat)

14: La Mer (Trenet; Lasry)

15: La Chanson des Vieux Amants (Brel)

16: Les Moulins de Mon Coeur The Windmills of Your Mind (Legrand; Bergman)


Arranged & conducted by Rogier van Otterloo

Recorded at Olympic Studios, Barnes, London, 13-14 September 1976

Producer: Cees Schrama